Skip to content

About Us

Chess Federation of N. Macedonia - Шаховска Федерација на Македонија

President of CFM: Aleksandra Gakidova

Technical organizer: Chess Club Kapablanka Skopje
Contact and manager of the event: International Organizer Zoran Stojcevski, +389 70 247247

Organization committee:
Blagoja Bogoevski, president
Zoran Stojcevski
Agim Semsiji
Toni Kiroski

Chess Federation of Macedonia was founded in 1947. The first president of CFM was academic d-r Blaze Koneski, prominent poet, prose writer, essayist, literary historian, philologist and linguist, translator, and professor at the Faculty of Philosophy in Skopje. He was also one of the codifiers of the modern Macedonian literary language.

Until nowadays, CFM was an organizer of many international chess events. One of the most prestigious ones are:

Inter-Zonal tournament for women 1971, Ohrid

Chess Olympiad 1972, Skopje

Meetings of Solidarity, three tournaments were organized in period 1967 -1976,  in Skopje, Ohrid, Krushevo,  ( winners of the tournaments were Polugaevski, Fisher, Karpov)

European Individual Championship 2001, Ohrid

European Chess Club Cup 2009, Ohrid

European Chess Club Cup 2015, Skopje

European Individual Blitz and Rapid championship 2018, Skopje

World Congress of Chess Composition 2018, Ohrid

European Individual Championship 2019, Skopje